The Great Dividing Range

The Three Sisters

The Great Dividing Range of Australia is so callled because it forms a watershed. Rivers on the east side flow from the highlands toward the Pacific Ocean; on the west side they flow toward the central lowlands. In southern New South Wales and Eastern Victoria are the Australian Alps, the continent's tallest mountains. Mount Kosciusko, Australia's highest peak, rises to a height of 7,316 feet (2,230 m.).

The mountains on the Island of Tasmania are an offshore extension of this Australian range.

This range of mountains is located immediately to the west of the city of Sydney. They are one of the most unspoiled highland areas in Australia.

Some of the most popular attractions in these mountains are Echo Point at Katoomba with incredible views of the Jamison Valley and the Three Sisters, Blue Mountains National Park and Kanangra Boyd National Park.
Return to Mountain Ranges from Great Dividing Range

The Great Dividing Range


Share this page:

Enjoy this page? Tell others about it! Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.