The Atlas Mountains

The Atlas Mountains

The Atlas Mountains are a range extending 1,500 miles across northwestern Africa. They run from Cape Guir on the Atlantic Ocean to Cape Bon on the Mediterranean Sea. The range crosses part of Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia. These mountains were named after Atlas, the Greek Titan.

These mountains are made up of several chains that run from southwest to northeast. The southern chains are the Grand or High Atlas, the Atlas and the Anti-Atlas in Morocco, and the Saharan Atlas in Algeria. The highest peaks include Jbel Toubkal at 13,671 feet (4,167 m.) and Djebel Ighil M’Goun which is 13,356 feet (4,071 m.) in Morocco.

Plant life of the northern regions resembles that of Mediterranean Europe. Esparto, or alfa grass, grows in the shotts (plateaus). Only scrubby vegetation grows on the southern slopes.
Return to Mountain Ranges from the Atlas Mountains


Share this page:

Enjoy this page? Tell others about it! Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.